Shaming the Fat Shamer, Three Years Later 

 
Three years ago I was on the F train headed to the Mermaid Parade when the guy pictured above made me take off my earphones so he could tell me to go running for an hour each day. 

I proceeded to not only take his picture for future shaming purposes, but also to tell him to mind his own business and where he could stick his “advice.” And I did it so loud that half the train car was side eyeing him. 

It’s one of my prouder moments. And it felt good. I wish we lived in a world where this wasn’t necessary, but I also think fighting back is great when you can do so safely. I’d like to believe that man will think twice before fatshaming someone else, so that’s at least a small victory. 

Leave a Reply

